Presidency: Elections 2018

Presidency:  Elections 2018, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Africa

The President of the Republic is the Head of the State. He represents the nation and is the symbol of national unity. He ensures the respect of the Constitution. He ensures, through his arbitration, the proper functioning of the public authorities and institutions as well as the continuity of the State. He is the guarantor of national independence, territorial integrity, national sovereignty and the observance of international treaties and agreements.

The President of the Republic is elected by direct universal suffrage for a term of five years which is renewable only once.  At the end of his term, the President stays in office until the President-Elect effectively assumes his functions.

The President of the Republic is elected by an absolute majority of the votes cast. If such a majority is not obtained on the first ballot, a second ballot takes place within a period of fifteen days. Only the two candidates who received the highest number of votes cast in the first ballot may present themselves in the second ballot. In the case of death, incapacitation or withdrawal of either of the two candidates, the remaining candidates present themselves in the order which corresponds to the results of the first ballot.

The candidate who obtains the highest number of votes is declared elected on the second ballot.


A person may not stand as a candidate in the presidential elections, if they do not meet the following requirements:
– possess the Congolese nationality of origin;
– be at least thirty years of age;
– enjoy all civil and political rights;
– not be subject to one of the exclusions provided for by the electoral law.