DR Congo Government Facts

According to the Constitution of the Democratic Republic of the Congo

The institutions of the Republic are as follows:

– The President of the Republic;
– The Parliament;
– The Government;
– The Courts and Tribunals.

The following offices are to be elected in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Africa on December 23rd:


National Deputy

State Deputy


Description of Congolese Government:

The President of the DRC is Chief of State, and appoints a Prime Minister. The Congolese Government is a Bicameral Parliament.  There is a Congolese Senate (Sénat), which is the Upper House, and a Congolese National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), which is the Lower House. The Senate (Sénat) has 108 elected seats and the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) has 500 elected seats.

Further Description of Congolese Electoral System:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, usually from the majority party or coalition in the National Assembly.
  • In the Senate (Sénat) 108 members are indirectly elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms. In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 61 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 439 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.
    •  Members are elected by regional legislatures. Each multi-member district corresponds to one of 26 provinces or Kinshasha. The magnitude of each district is 4, except Kinshasha, whose magnitude is 8. The electoral system is open-list PR. Former Presidents may be Senators ex officio. There are 109 multi-member districts in the list tier. Minimum magnitude is 2. Each voter gets two votes: one in either tier.

Political Parties 2018:

Incumbent party: The People’s Party for Reconstruction and Democracy (PPRD)

The primary opposition party: The UDPS party

The Union for the Congolese Nation party

the Engagement for Citizenship and Development party

The elections process and offices are described in the Constitution of the DRC.