DR Congo Facts

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is a country located in central Africa with a population of approximately 80,000,000 people.

The following information is from the Encyclopedia Britannica and is accurate as of December 4, 2018:

The country has a 25-mile (40-km) coastline on the Atlantic Ocean but is otherwise landlocked.  It is the second largest country on the continent; only Algeria is larger. The capital, Kinshasa, is located on the Congo River about 320 miles (515 km) from its mouth. The largest city in central Africa, it serves as the country’s official administrative, economic, and cultural centre.

The country is often referred to by its acronym, the DRC, or called Congo (Kinshasa), with the capital added parenthetically, to distinguish it from the other Congo republic, which is officially called the Republic of the Congo and is often referred to as Congo (Brazzaville).

OFFICIAL NAME: République Democratique du Congo (Democratic Republic of the Congo)

FORM OF GOVERNMENT: Unitary multiparty republic with two legislative houses (Senate [108]; National Assembly [500])

HEAD OF STATE: President:


CAPITAL: Kinshasa


MONETARY UNIT: Congo franc (FC)

TOTAL AREA (SQ MI) 905,568 or (SQ KM) 2,345,410

DENSITY: PERSONS PER SQ MI (2017) 85.9 or PERSONS PER SQ KM (2017) 33.2

URBAN-RURAL POPULATION Urban: (2015) 42.5% / Rural: (2015) 57.5%

LIFE EXPECTANCY AT BIRTH Male: (2016) 55.8 years / Female: (2016) 58.9 years

LITERACY: PERCENTAGE OF POPULATION AGE 15 AND OVER LITERATE: Male: (2010) 76.9% / Female: (2010) 57%

Source: https://www.britannica.com/place/Democratic-Republic-of-the-Congo